How I manage to get a 7-10 day bond in the nape area

Standard

The nape is notorious for being a tricky area to bond, after tons and tons and some more tons of research, I was able to find some tricks that really help to get this area stuck down.

It all starts with proper scalp prep:

Make sure your head is squeaky clean.After you remove your wig, clean away all adhesive residue, I used Pro-Touch adhesive remover and after that I washed my scalp thoroughly with clarifying shampoo. If you still feel some oily residue, wash it with Dawn (regular, blue stuff) dish soap.

Shave your head as well as you can, I used to use a wet razor, but that gave me lots of razor bumps but if you can, do this. I ended up settling for a buzz cut with my clippers (plastic guard removed or ‘zero’ setting). It worked alright.

Dry your head thoroughly with a microfiber towel, to avoid any fibers being left behind

I applied ProTouch No Sweat, as it made me feel clean and smelling fresh for longer. Then I applied a thin coat of Scalp Protector. I see scalp protector as a film forming barrier, which protects the adhesive from your natural oils, and not the other way round (It really works for some and not for others).

Let all that dry.

Prepare your wig also:

Make sure there are no residues on your wig base also. Dont wash your wig cap with very moisturizing shampoos (I used clarifying shampoos and Dawn if needed).

Attach your tape to your base, not to your scalp.

If you use Adjust-A-Bond or Isopropyl alcohol to adjust the placement, use as little as possible.

More tips and tricks:

  • I was only able to achieve these results using Walker No Shine Tape, 1 inch strips. Narrower pieces of tape also worked, but only this brand and tape held this long. Supertape, Ultrahold and other tapes did not hold for so long.
  • I found that the Scalp Protector really helped.
  • Don’t wet your bond and try to avoid heavy sweating during at least 24 hours, while the adhesive cures.
  • If possible, depending on where your natural hairline ends, get a wig that doesn’t go too far down on your neck (mine did, it went about one and a half inch below my occipital bone, but if it were higher up, it wouldn’t move around so much, and last possibly even longer!).

 

 

 

 

 

One response »

  1. I love reading anything you write 🙂 It gives me strength to continue on my journey to make peace with my hair. Thank you for sharing all that you share! I know it’s difficult to state the facts when others might take that as complaining. Those of us in similar circumstances know it is not! I find writing it down to be so helpful to become more objective and ‘get it out’ and to share, which builds everyone’s strength.

Leave a Reply

